Oct 2019

Oct 2019

So I haven’t been posting much the past couple of months, I’m not too sure why, it isn’t that I don’t want to continue this, I just seem to have other things occupying my time. But, I’ve been overwhelmed with how many people have asked when will I be posting again, so I’m going to definitely make more of an effort going forwards.

So where am I right now?

It has been a year since I joined Whitbread, which has flown by! I’m very grateful for all the opportunities I’m getting involved with, but sometimes I can feel like I have Imposter Syndrome, then I remember there is a reason I am there and that I can do it – as I’m sure many can relate to. I’m now onto my 4th graduate scheme rotation, Information Security (InfoSec), for the last two months I’ve been in the Security Operations team, working with them with incidents, threat modelling and gaining an understanding of the tools that are used. It has been a really insightful two months, as I now move on to another part of InfoSec it has been really good to get an overview of that team and work alongside them. Only two more rotations after this and then I will be moving into a full time position come September 2020… I’m excited to see where I will end up within Whitbread. Definitely the biggest thing I’ve learnt is the power of networking, I feel like I’ve learnt so much from people I’ve worked with and met as I’ve rotated round.

In the last 6 months, I have also set up my own company on the side of Whitbread to earn some extra pennies, Viberse, where I provide social media and email marketing consultancy and also build WordPress websites for clients.

In my personal life, I’ve been spending a lot of time down in Bournemouth whilst my boyfriend continues with his flight training – can’t believe it’s been a year he has been there also. I’ve also loved seeing so many of my friends, from school, from placement and from my grad scheme in my spare time; as well as family.

So between all that I guess it is why I haven’t been posting as much, but I really want to share my experiences to you all, continue to help give a perspective from a women in tech and potentially encourage younger girls and women to try out a role in Tech.

Leave a comment